Day 3 meant Tsukiji.

(Warning: LOTS of photos.)

A cold morning, waking up at 5am to get to Tsukiji market before the Tuna auction ended. Took the first few trains heading toward Tsukiji and then it started drizzling and got really wet. Maybe that’s why there was no smell at all in the market, cos of the cold! Best fish market ever. I hate the smell of wet markets in Singapore, I think I never breathe through my nose when I’m there.

We weren’t sure where to go when we arrived at the station. So we just followed people. We assumed they were going to the right place. And we did end up at the right place. So all was good. (:

First view of the fish in Tsukiji Market
First views of the fish in Tsukiji Market

Tsukiji 02

Roe - lots!
Roe – lots!
Unagi! They look kind of scary and gross swimming in there. But... just think of the taste!
Unagi! They look kind of scary and gross swimming in there. But… just think of the taste!
Tuna sold at the auction (I'm assuming). They are huge! Its just so amazing seeing the whole huge tuna go pass by you, and then another one over there, and there. And then being cut up, being sliced, apportioned. Its just so amazing seeing it as a whole instead of being in my food alone.
Tuna sold at the auction (I’m assuming). They are huge! Its just so amazing seeing the whole huge tuna go pass by you, and then another one over there, and there. And then being cut up, being sliced, apportioned. Its just so amazing seeing it as a whole instead of being in my food alone.
Here are my parents with the tuna!
Here are my parents with the tuna!
Fishy fishy, all in a row.
Fishy fishy, all in a row.
Tuna being mistreated and hauled around, and cut up. They are so big, and heavy! They just chop off bits of it and its like all over the floor - okay not all over, but you know what I mean! - and there was a tail on the ground, then fins were coming off too.
Tuna being mistreated and hauled around, and cut up. They are so big, and heavy! They just chop off bits of it and its like all over the floor – okay not all over, but you know what I mean! – and there was a tail on the ground, then fins were coming off too.

After checking out the fish market, we then found the auction room, where the tuna auction was being carried out.

Its all busy busy in the auction room. Bells will be ringing where the tuna to be sold will be. They will be shouting all sort of numbers to the crowd, hands will be raised, and then the tuna will be sold. So exciting.
Its all busy busy in the auction room. Bells will be ringing where the tuna to be sold will be. They will be shouting all sort of numbers to the crowd, hands will be raised, and then the tuna will be sold. So exciting.
Look at the rows and rows of tuna.
Look at the rows and rows of tuna.
Dragging away the ones that have been sold.
Dragging away the ones that have been sold.
So much going on at 6am in the early morning. All the tuna to be sold, all the buyers busy calculating their worths and their ability to purchase.
So much going on at 6am in the early morning. All the tuna to be sold, all the buyers busy calculating their worths and their ability to purchase.
Dragging the tuna about.
Dragging the tuna about.

After the auction was over, for us at least because tourists were only allowed in during a fixed time period, we headed back out and checked out the rest of the market!

57 Tsukiji 15

Here I am in the middle of the huge huge super cool Tsukiji fish market.
Here I am in the middle of the huge huge super cool Tsukiji fish market.
And here are my parents in the cool Tsukiji Fish Market.
And here are my parents in the cool Tsukiji Fish Market.
Here is the anago man! Slicing the anago. I thought it was unagi, but he corrected me. And he also warned us when those crazy car things were zooming around next to us, how nice. (:
Here is the anago man! Slicing the anago. I thought it was unagi, but he corrected me. And he also warned us when those crazy car things were zooming around next to us, how nice. (:
Check out the cool octopus!
Check out the cool octopus!

62 Tsukiji 2063 Tsukiji 2164 Tsukiji 2265 Tsukiji 23

Here is Pa with the man cutting up the fish
Here is Pa with the man cutting up the fish
And now Pa & Me
And now Pa & Me
Here I am.. somewhere in the middle of Tsukiji
Here I am.. somewhere in the middle of Tsukiji
Slicing up the fish. With full concentration.
Slicing up the fish. With full concentration.
Check out the long knife.
Check out the long knife. I’m just imagining the sounds of swords slicing through the air. *shing-shwhing*
Slicing up the tuna with precision.
Slicing up the tuna with precision.
Tsukiji. Wow.
Tsukiji. Wow.
Here I am with a whole fridge full of tuna pieces!
Here I am with a whole fridge full of tuna pieces!
And my parents with same fridge of tuna.
And my parents with same fridge of tuna.

75 Tsukiji 30

Then whilst trying to get out of the fish market, we ended up in the fruit & vegetable market. Those are people buying the veges/fruit. It was quite amazing.
Then whilst trying to get out of the fish market, we ended up in the fruit & vegetable market. Those are people buying the veges/fruit. It was quite amazing.
Here we are in the fruit/vege section
Here we are in the fruit/vege section

After finding our way out of the market, and finding out where the other market with all the food was. We made our way there, and went to find breakfast! And I got to choose unagi! :D My parents love me.

Then we went to eat unagi. Because I'm pathetic and don't enjoy sashimi.
Then we went to eat unagi. Because I’m pathetic and don’t enjoy sashimi.
Here is Pa with his unagi-don!
Here is Pa with his unagi-don!
And Mum with hers!
And Mum with hers!
And happy me with mine! YAY!
And happy me with mine! YAY!

After this, we went back to the hotel to sleep. I wonder why.

After waking up too soon, forced to by my parents, we went to get my apartment stuff done. And check out awesome ramen we had for lunch!

82 RAMEN shinjuku83 RAMEN shinjuku84 Ramen Parents85 Ramen Me

That night we dumped all my stuff in my apartment. And I had Takopachi! LOVE!!

86 Takopachi Pa Me

One thought on “Day 3 meant Tsukiji.

Leave a Reply

