Yes, I AM in Japan.

Seeing how I’ve been missing in action for the best of almost 3 weeks. I know I have a lot to fill in! Like tonnes of pictures too. But.. the television is distracting me with baseball, and baseball players – 鳥谷 敬 (Takashi Toritani) from Hanshin Tigers is damn cute, and he’s damn good! I think he hit 2 home runs. The first one brought 2 others back home, leveling the score with the Giants, then he hit another home run. So the Tigers won the Giants 7-6 today, super exciting game. I need to watch baseball live in Japan! Like the Giants at Tokyo Dome, too bad the Tigers are from Osaka – I kind of like them, watched a few games along the way when we were traveling around.

Yes, ok so that was not updating about me being in Japan, but kind of.

Well. I shall update on my apartment! Its more like a room, with an adjoined toilet, and an electric stove & microwave to you people who live anywhere other than Tokyo.

View from the door, as you enter. New flowers, bed, desk. Not enough storage space... AT ALL. I don't have a bookshelf, so my books and papers are going to overflow onto the floor very soon.

View from the door, as you enter. New flowers, bed, desk. Not enough storage space... AT ALL. I don't have a bookshelf, so my books and papers are going to overflow onto the floor very soon.

View of my room from the bed!

View of my room from the bed!


My desk & Tv (with PM Hatoyama on the screen), clothes wardrobe & cabinet at the back.

My desk & Tv (with PM Hatoyama on the screen), clothes wardrobe & cabinet at the back.

My toilet! Minimal space, but enough for whatever's necessary.

My toilet! Minimal space, but enough for whatever's necessary.

House plant, Pretty Pink Flowers! I decided that I need a plant in the apartment. (: So I bought one. Its so pretty.

House plant, Pretty Pink Flowers! I decided that I need a plant in the apartment. (: So I bought one. Its so pretty.

Ok I’m watching the news in Japanese on Hatoyama Yukio stepping in as Prime Minister of Japan today. I didn’t understand what was happening – my Japanese is rudimentary – so as expected, google helped me!

So school has not begun proper, only the orientations and getting us to take the language placement tests. Well, the placement tests were just crazy difficult, and just made me feel as if it was a waste studying it for the past 6 months, because, well I’m probably in the class just above zero. In J0 they learn the real basic of basics, so I guess they won’t put me in that right, I can’t do hiragana and katakana all over again. My brain died during the interview test today, so I started using English for some words, which totally explained the lady’s sympathetic, ‘We think its best we put you in a basic class, to improve your level of Japanese, is that ok?’ Oh wells, not that I need to take any modules in Japanese, so although it was an ego buster, its okay.

Met the other international exchange students who are entering Rikkyo this term, got to know some Japanese students too, when we went for the Nomikai on Monday evening. The other exchange people are really nice, hung out with some of them for the past few days when we see each other in school to get stuff done etc, then we did grocery shopping, Daiso shopping, dinner etc. I spend way too much on groceries, so far its about ¥3500, and that’s not including rice, which I intend to buy tomorrow, cos its cheaper at the other supermarket which I was too lazy to walk to today. An international friends club thing organized the Nomikai for the international exchange people, so we went. Its a drinking party, but the group was too big, so we split into 2 separate groups, and went to 2 different restaurants. The Japanese students were really nice, and they spoke to us in Japanese, mostly, so I was having a real brainy time trying to converse in and understand Japanese – its really tough! Especially because they use casual speech, when all, or most of, what I’ve been studying has been formal speech, so its really different. But it was alright in the end, it was fun!

People sitting around me! Perrtu on the left. Jap girl - forgot her name.. David, and Yuki pouring some drink.

People sitting around me! Perrtu on the left. Jap girl - forgot her name.. David, and Yuki doing something with her chopsticks.

The table. We had interesting food. A hot pot, deep fried spaghetti, okonomiyaki, fries, chicken wings, and drinks!

The table. We had interesting food. A hot pot, deep fried spaghetti, okonomiyaki, fries, chicken wings, and drinks!

Yu & I. (ha. ha.)  First year law student.

Yu & I. (ha. ha.) First year law student.

Me, Yu & Yumie. Yumie brought me around for the school tour part of orientation, and lunch. She's super cute. And tall. And pretty. They're both 19, so young!! (Oh, and under the legal drinking age. So no, they were not drinking. Righttt.)

Me, Yu & Yumie. Yumie brought me around for the school tour part of orientation, and lunch. She's super cute. And tall. And pretty. They're both 19, so young!! (Oh, and under the legal drinking age. So no, they were not drinking. Righttt.)

The other half of the table! The guy on the right, is Travis, from Hawaii, he lives in the dorms at my station too. Part of the group of us who've been home shopping for the past few days. He loves Uniqlo ( he just bought 3 shirts today when we were out), according to Robyn, the other girl from Hawaii.

The other half of the table! The guy on the right, is Travis, from Hawaii, he lives in the dorms at my station too. Part of the group of us who've been home shopping for the past few days. He loves Uniqlo ( he just bought 3 shirts today when we were out), according to Robyn, the other girl from Hawaii.

Me, Amanda & Sara. They're from Canada, but different schools. They're really nice. And Amanda is like kerraazy. Haha, maybe she was just really high. But she's really fun to hang out with. And has cool hair.

Me, Amanda & Sara. They're from Canada, but different schools. They're really nice. And Amanda is like kerraazy. Haha, maybe she was just really high. But she's really fun to hang out with. And has cool hair.

Right outside the building the restaurant was in. This is Ikebukuro on a Monday night. Go figure. Its packed at all times, all over central Tokyo. Its freaking amazing.

Right outside the building the restaurant was in. This is Ikebukuro on a Monday night. Go figure. Its packed at all times, all over central Tokyo. Its freaking amazing.

A standing up bar across the building we were in. Its interesting seeing people just stand around drinking.

A standing up bar across the building we were in. Its interesting seeing people just stand around drinking.

Ok, I really need to wash up and go to bed now. I have to be up for College of Business orientation tomorrow morning. I already totally forgot about the library orientation this morning and slept in. Hope its not as boring as the one we had on Monday. Kei was sleeping, whoops, and I was dozing off, so were many of the people around me. Ok night! I’ll update with more on the traveling part tomorrow! Promise!!

One thought on “Yes, I AM in Japan.

Leave a Reply

